Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Father's Name Is Dad: The Complete Fire (UK)


Price: $37.99
-- Out of Stock --

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


Three CDs. Led by future Strawbs guitarist Dave Lambert, Hounslow-based trio Fire failed to break through in their lifetime, but have posthumously been championed by two slightly different elements of the collector network: mod/psychedelic pop admirers love their much-covered 1968 single 'Father's Name Is Dad' and their collection of similarly-styled demos from the same period; while progressive rock fans have made the 1970 Pye album The Magic Shoemaker a hugely valuable artefact. Finally, all of their work is now available under one roof with Father's Name Is Dad: The Complete Fire. Disc One rounds up their 1967-'68 work (including both Decca-issued versions of the title track single). Disc Two contains the album The Magic Shoemaker plus sundry out-takes and alternative versions from the same period. Disc Three is the original trio's triumphant staging of an extended, revamped live The Magic Shoemaker over two nights in 2007. Assembled with the aid of chief Fireman Lambert, the set features many rare delights, such as all four tracks (including the previously unreleased 'It's Not Easy Falling Out Of Love' and 'Boys And Girls Together') that the band recorded in mid-1967 at the RG Jones studio under their original name of Friday's Chyld, plus two tracks ('Live To Love' and 'Back There Again') that were recorded in late 1970 by a revised line-up, and which have never previously appeared on a Fire package. Featuring every Fire recording known to exist, and with a booklet that includes a full band history, rare photos and new quotes, Father's Name Is Dad: The Complete Fire is the final word on one of the most fascinating bands working on the late '60s British pop scene.

Disk 1

  1. Alison Wonderland
  2. Green-Legged Auntie Sally
  3. Happy Sound
  4. I Know You Inside Out
  5. Man In The Teapot
  6. Oh Johnny
  7. Round The Gum Tree
  8. Spare A Copper
  9. Toothy Ruthie
  10. Treacle Toffee World
  11. Will I Find Love?

Disk 2

  1. Back There Again
  2. Children Of Imagination
  3. Children Of Imagination (Reprise)
  4. Flies Like A Bird
  5. Happy Man Am I
  6. I Can See The Sky
  7. Like To Help You If I Can
  8. Live To Love
  9. Magic Shoes
  10. Magic Shoes (Demo Version)
  11. Mama When Will I Understand (Studio Version)
  12. Only A Dream
  13. Only A Dream (Demo Version)
  14. Reason For Everything
  15. Reason For Everything (Demo Version)
  16. Shoemaker
  17. Tell You A Story

Disk 3

  1. Children Of Imagination
  2. Flies Like A Bird
  3. Happy Man Am I
  4. I Can See The Sky
  5. Like To Help You If I Can
  6. Magic Shoes
  7. Mama When Will I Understand (Live Version
  8. Only A Dream
  9. Overture (To A Shoemaker)
  10. Reason For Everything
  11. Shoemaker
  12. Tell You A Story
  13. Treacle Toffee World
  14. War

Product Details


UPC Number: 136000424076

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: