Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Straight To The Head / Various (UK)

Straight To The Head / Various

Price: $23.99

Available in stores:

New Stock - Online Only,

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


27 recordings from Joe Gibbs? studio, a celebration of early reggae demonstrating the quality of Gibbs?s output throughout 1970, reflecting the developing sound of reggae during this formative and fascinating period.Includes tracks by some of the most influential Jamaican DJs of all time; featuring numerous reggae hits from 1970 with nine tracks new to CD.Highlights include hits and misses by a number of pioneering DJs including sound system veterans, Count Matchuki and Lord Comic, as well as relative newcomers, Johnny Lover, Lizzy and Carlton ?Caly? Gibbs.By the dawn of the 1970s, Joe Gibbs was firmly established as one of Jamaica?s premier music makers, having released an array of rock steady and reggae hits over the preceding few years.The months and years that immediately followed would bring even greater success, but before the producer?s hit- making talents received international recognition, he consolidated his lofty position on the Kingston scene with further best-sellers featuring some of the island?s brightest talents.With nine tracks making their CD debut, ?Straight To The Head? is an essential acquisition for both fans of vintage Jamaican sounds and those wishing to discover the early works of one of the most successful and influential Kingston-based producers of all time.


  1. 5 News Flash Version - The Destroyers
  2. Aquarius - Lizzy & Cornel Campbell
  3. Compass - The Destroyers
  4. Echo (Version) - The 3rd & 4th Generation
  5. Ghost Capturer - The Joe Gibbs All Stars
  6. Ghost Walk - Carlton Gibbs
  7. Head Cup - Johnny Lover & Charley Ace
  8. Hi-Jacked - Count Matchuki
  9. Honey No Money - Niney & Slim Smith
  10. Jack Of My Trade - Lord Comic
  11. Joy Stick ? Lizzy
  12. Movements - Count Matchuki
  13. Musical Recipe - Andy Capp
  14. Nevada Joe - Johnny Lover & Destroyers
  15. News Flash - The Destroyers
  16. Niney Special - Niney & The Destroyers
  17. O Lord - Winston Wright
  18. Perfect Born Ya - The Immortals
  19. Pussy Catch A Fire - The Soul Brothers
  20. Red Red Wine - The Immortals
  21. Rock The Clock (Version 2) - The Destroyers
  22. Rock The Clock - Busty Brown & The Destroyers
  23. Seeing Is Believing - Carlton Gibbs
  24. Straight To The Head - Johnny Lover
  25. Ten Feet Tall - Lizzy
  26. United We Stand - Cynthia & Al

Product Details


UPC Number: 136000091394

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: