Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Vinyl

Choctaw Ridge: New Fables Of The American South

Choctaw Ridge: New Fables Of The American South

Price: $41.99

Available in stores:

New Stock - Online Only,

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


Choctaw Ridge? explores a new country sound, one that emerged at the end of the 60s in the wake of Bobbie Gentry?s ?Ode To Billie Joe?, a shock number one hit in 1967. When singers like Gentry, Jimmy Webb, Michael Nesmith and Lee Hazlewood moved from the south to Los Angeles to make it in the music business, they were not part of the Nashville in-crowd and they forged a new direction.?Ode To Billie Joe? was the tip of the iceberg, and its success helped a bunch of singers and storytellers to emerge over the next three or four years. Some of the tracks on this collection bear that song?s stamp more clearly than others: Sammi Smith?s moody ?Saunders? Ferry Lane? had a similar mystery lyric, and Henson Cargill?s ?Four Shades Of Love? is a portmanteau, with one (or possibly two) of the theoretically romantic situations ending in death. Suddenly, character sketches of southerners became a lot more rounded ? women didn?t have to stay home, or take abuse at the office, and darkness wasn?t only found at the bottom of a bottle. Storytelling is the link between all of the songs on this collection. We have cautionary tales about what could happen to someone who heads for the bright lights and doesn?t make it, ending up in the grasping hands of ?Mr Walker? (Billie Joe Spears), or on the ?Back Side Of Dallas? (Jeannie C Reilly), or on a mortuary slab in the case of the songwriter with the ?Fabulous Body And Smile? (Robert Charles Griggs). And there are stories about wanting to go home ? Nat Stuckey?s ?What Am I Doing In LA?? and Charlie Rich?s ?Feel Like Going Home? ? and others from Ed Bruce and Lee Hazlewood, who know that their home isn?t home anymore. The tracklist and fulsome sleeve notes have been put together by Bob Stanley (Saint Etienne) and Martin Green (Smashing, The Sound Gallery), who have been collecting these records for decades.The voices are resonant and relatable, and the productions take in the best of what pop had to offer in the late 60s and early 70s. Before the factionalism between smooth pop-conscious Nashville and the hedonistic ?outlaws? made it look inward again, this was a golden era for an atmospheric, inclusive and progressive country music. It began on the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day.

Disk 1

  1. Down From Dover - Dolly Parton
  2. Endless Miles Of Highway - Jerry Reed
  3. Four Shades Of Love - Henson Cargill
  4. If Only She Had Stayed - Chris Gantry
  5. July 12, 1939 - Charlie Rich
  6. Mr Stanton Don?t Believe It - Rob Galbraith
  7. Saunders? Ferry Lane - Sammi Smith
  8. Strawberry Farms - Tom T Hall
  9. The Back Side Of Dallas - Jeannie C Riley
  10. The House Song - Lee Hazlewood
  11. Way Before The Time Of Towns - Hoyt Axton
  12. What Am I Doing In L.A.? - Nat Stuckey

Disk 2

  1. Alone - Lee Hazlewood & Suzi Jane Hokom
  2. Belinda (Alt Take) - Bobbie Gentry
  3. Drivin? Nails In The Wall ? Waylon Jennings & The Kimberlys
  4. Fabulous Body And Smile ? Sir Robert Charles Griggs
  5. Harlan County - Jim Ford
  6. I Feel Like Going Home - Charlie Rich
  7. Joanne - Michael Nesmith & The First National Band
  8. Mr Jackson?s Got Nothing To Do - John Hartford
  9. Mr Walker, It?s All Over - Billie Jo Spears
  10. Ruby, Don?t Take Your Love To Town ? Kenny Rogers & The First Edition
  11. Why Can?t I Come Home - Ed Bruce
  12. Widow Wimberly - Tony Joe White

Product Details


UPC Number: 136000001330

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: