Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Singles & Albums Collection 1959-62


Price: $15.99

Available in stores:

New Stock - Online Only,

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


Gene McDaniels was an African-American singer, who started out performing gospel, before turning to jazz, and came to the fore as vocalist with the Les McCann Trio in Los Angeles. Signed by Liberty, he teamed up with producer Snuff Garrett after a couple of releases and burst onto the chart scene in 1961 with the US No. 3 "A Hundred Pounds Of Clay". A series of hits followed through the early '60s, and he also became a versatile album seller, before turning to the black consciousness form later in the decade. This great-value 58-track 2-CD collection comprises all his Liberty A & B sides from these years, plus selected tracks from his albums "In Times Like These", "Sometimes I'm Happy Sometimes I'm Blue", "100 Lbs. Of Clay!", "Sings Movie Memories", "Tower Of Strength", and "Hit After Hit". It features all his chart entries from this era including the Top 10 hits "A Hundred Pounds Of Clay", "Tower Of Strength" and "Chip Chip", plus "Point Of No Return", "Spanish Lace" and others. On his albums, he explores a variety of musical territory, exploiting his jazz and gospel-trained voice as he performs Great American Songbook standards and his own interpretations of current hits of the day, plus classic movie songs along with new contemporary material. He was a fine singer, whose pop hits marked him out as a distinctive song stylist, and this collection is an enjoyable showcase for that talent.

Disk 1

  1. A Hundred Pounds Of Clay
  2. A Tear
  3. Another Tear Falls
  4. Chapel Of Tears
  5. Chip Chip
  6. Facts Of Life
  7. Funny
  8. Gone With The Wind
  9. How Long Has This Been Going On
  10. In A Sentimental Mood
  11. In Times Like These
  12. It Might As Well Be Spring
  13. Like Someone In Love
  14. Look For The Silver Lining
  15. Look To Your Heart
  16. Love Is Here To Stay
  17. Once Before
  18. Point of No Return
  19. Spanish Lace
  20. Take A Chance On Love
  21. The Green Door
  22. The High And Mighty
  23. The Secret
  24. The Sound Of Music
  25. Tower Of Strength
  26. Warmer Than A Whisper
  27. When I Fall In Love

Disk 2

  1. (At) The End (Of A Rainbow)
  2. (There Was A) Tall Oak Tree
  3. A Little Bit Of Soap
  4. All The Way
  5. And The Angels Sing
  6. Around The World
  7. Autumn Leaves
  8. Cry
  9. Deed I Do
  10. From Here To Eternity
  11. I Almost Lost My Mind
  12. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
  13. Love Me Tender
  14. Mona Lisa
  15. Portrait Of My Love
  16. Raindrops
  17. Secret Love
  18. Send For Me
  19. Take Good Care Of Her
  20. Tammy
  21. Three Coins In The Fountain
  22. Till There Was You
  23. You Belong To Me
  24. You Can Have Her
  25. Young At Heart

Product Details


UPC Number: 136002155355

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown