Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Igor Stravinsky


Price: $29.99

Available in stores:

New Stock - Online Only,

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


This CD is European export. Moscow born and trained pianist Elena Kuschnerova, currently living in Germany, is the last discovery of Harold Schonberg (1915-2003), the former chief critic of the New York Times, and the only performing artist affiliated with great and controversial Russian composer Alexander Lazarevich Lokshin (1920-1987). She seems to be the only musician having it's own Internet radio that hosts her entire output. An independent classical musician, she is pursuing an impressive concert and recording career on her own. Elena released 8 solo piano CDs and 2 chamber-music CDs on different labels. In addition, many of her live recordings are available as digital downloads in her own downloads shop. CD offered on this page has been recorded at the SWR radio station in Baden-Baden and released by the German label Ars Produktion. It contains all Stravinsky's piano solo output except for his early piano sonata. In particular, 'Trois mouvements de Petrouchka' is marked by fluidity and genuine Russian spirit. It is a story-telling and not merely a technical display piece. Harold Schonberg, the chief music critic of New Yourk Times and a famous author on pianists, praised this CD and her Scriabin CD on Ars Musici in two reviews in the American Record Guide. About this CD he wrote: 'In short, a pianist who grabs the imagination'. (Please, check the artist web site for the full text of this and other reviews.) Elena's earlier Prokofiev CD on Ars Musici received German Record Critics' Award (Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik) and later it was included into the list of the best 50 piano recordings 'for a lonely island' by the German magazine SCALA. Elena Kuschnerova's live Bach CD issued by Orfeo was given an all-stars review, as well as a rosette as a special honor, by the 2003/04 and 2005/2006 editions of the Penguin Guide to Classical CDs and DVDs. Although not all of Kuschnerova's CD have been given attention by the music press, all of them are marked by her unimitable style that immediately strikes any unprejudiced ear. On the artist's web site you can explore all her CDs and other recordings, including free full-length streaming from 'Elena Kuschnerova Classic Radio'.


  1. Etudes, Op.7: I. Con Moto
  2. Etudes, Op.7: II. Allegro Brillante
  3. Etudes, Op.7: III. Andantino
  4. Etudes, Op.7: IV. Vivo
  5. Sonata (1924): I. QTR. Note = 112
  6. Sonata (1924): II. Adagietto
  7. Sonata (1924): III. QTR. Note = 112
  8. Les Cinq Doits: I. Andantino
  9. Les Cinq Doits: II. Allegro
  10. Les Cinq Doits: III. Allegretto
  11. Les Cinq Doits: IV. Larghetto
  12. Les Cinq Doits: V. Moderato
  13. Les Cinq Doits: VI. Lento
  14. Les Cinq Doits: VII. Vivo
  15. Les Cinq Doits: VIII. Pesante
  16. Serenade in a: I. Hymne
  17. Serenade in a: II. Romanza
  18. Serenade in a: III. Rondoletto
  19. Serenade in a: IV. Cadenza Finala
  20. Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka: I. Danse Russe
  21. Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka: II. Chez Petrouchka
  22. Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka: III. La Semaine Gra
  23. Two Pieces After Pulcinella Pergolesi: I. Scherzino
  24. Two Pieces After Pulcinella Pergolesi: II. Gavotta
  25. Tango

Product Details


UPC Number: 136001001358

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: