Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Stirring Up Some Jazz: Original Sound Of Uk Club

Stirring Up Some Jazz: Original Sound Of Uk Club

Price: $14.99

Available in stores:

New Stock - Online Only,

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


WELCOME TO THE CLUB! The first in a new series of ?Club Beat? albums that explores the roots of Black music in the U.K., via the burgeoning post-war club scene, as it evolved into ?Soul?, influenced along the way by an exotic mix of rhythm & blues, jazz and reggae.Chapter one embraces the birth of Ska in the cosmopolitan melting pot and fashion conscious Soho, enriched by the influx of half a million British West Indians and their vibrant culture. We focus on Carnaby Street?s infamous Roaring Twenties Club and its genre defining playlist captured in our 25 track compilation.Features many new-to-CD tracks including the original take of ?Come To Me Softly? by Jimmy James .Illustrated and informative liner notes.


  1. Be Still ? Derrick Morgan
  2. Come To Me Softly ? Jimmy James
  3. Easy Snapping ? Clue J. And His Blues Blasters
  4. Evening Train ? Clive Bailey Recho?s Blues Group
  5. Everything Is Go ? Cab Kaye With His Music From Ghana
  6. Gee Baby ? Jimmy James
  7. Gypsy Woman ? Derrick & Patsy
  8. Lazy Lou ? Monty And The Cyclones
  9. Lollipop Girl ? The Jiving Juniors With Duke Reid And His Group
  10. Madness Is Gladness ? Prince Buster
  11. Manny, Oh ? Higgs & Wilson With Ken Richards & His Comets
  12. Mash It Pt 1 ? Owen Gray & The Caribs
  13. Night Train ? Byron Lee And The Dragonaires
  14. No More Doggin? ? Roscoe Gordon
  15. Oh What A Smile (Can Do) ? Eric Morris
  16. One More Week ? Jackie (Wilfred) Edwards
  17. Pretty Little Baby ? Teddy Brown
  18. Real Real ? Stranger & Patsy With The Baba Brooks Band
  19. Rico?s Farewell ? Rico & Happy
  20. Strong Arm ? Baba Brooks And His Group
  21. Sweeter & Sweeter ? Fay & Gabby
  22. Sweetie Pie ? Monty And Roy Lumbago And His Orchestra
  23. Tell Me Darling ? Wilfred Edwards With The Caribs
  24. The Call Of The Gators (Aka ?Later For The Gator? Aka ?Coxsone?s Hop?) ? Willis Jackson
  25. They Got To Go ? Prince Buster

Product Details


UPC Number: 136000171878

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: