Tradepost Entertainment

No Image Available Compact Disc

Staring At The Sea: The Singles


Price: $10.99
-- Out of Stock --

Standard Shipping: $4.00 (Free on orders of $50 or more)


Out of print in the U.S. Import pressing of this collection, the first and still most popular Cure compilation on the market. Staring at the Sea contains 17 absolute gems spanning their first eight years (1978-85) ranging from the dark, minimalist "Killing An Arab" to the almost symphonic "A Night Like This". This set traces The Cure's evolution from Post-Punk trio through the early years of the band's reinvention as gloomy and mildly psychedelic romantics. Staring at the Sea (AKA Standing on a Beach) includes the catchy "Boys Don't Cry" and "The Walk", The Cure's response to New Order's early attempts at electronic dance music. Also present here are the hauntingly beautiful "Charlotte Sometimes", not available on any of the band's studio albums, and "The Lovecats", one of The Cure's more unique and most commercially successful singles. This excellent compilation effectively summarizes the growth of one of new wave's most formidable forces. It also serves as an ideal introduction to The Cure.


  1. Killing an Arab
  2. Saturday night
  3. Boys don't cry
  4. Jumping someone else's train
  5. Forest
  6. Play for today
  7. Primary
  8. Other voices
  9. Charlotte sometimes
  10. Hanging garden
  11. Let's go to bed
  12. Walk
  13. Love cats
  14. The caterpillar
  15. In between days
  16. Close to me
  17. A night like this

Product Details


UPC Number: 136000147905

** Digital codes or downloadable content may or may not be present and are not guaranteed to be valid on used products.

** Used items are gently used and some wear is to be expected. Cover art may vary.

** Cartridge games come with the cartridge only

** Images of cover art may vary, stock image shown

Customer who viewed this item also viewed: